Jeevana, while with the fish-seller

In the market square
In an unfamiliar day on an
Hour not usual for either of us,

As I sat with the vendor of
Dried fish, talking politics,
As I turned my head for a moment’s space,

There, you walked by us,
Stopped for a minute, with time enough
Just to say a Hi.

Your eyes met mine, Jeevana,
And in your eyes I saw the need to say more.
Your lips tightened, as if in a hurried kiss,

And what my face betrayed, Jeevana,
I do not know. Then, you reluctantly moved on.
Turned around and moved on, as you had to go.

So, I turned back to the vendor of fish,
And continued on the subject of politics.
But, you woman whose warmth I know, of you I wanted more.

lara6-27mvr2e

Leave a Reply

